mobile menu

Search form

Riverina, SW Slopes and Plains RFT

Current status

The Riverina, South Western Slopes and Plains Request for Tender (RFT) for Group A and Group B assets closed on 25 May 2016.

Transport for NSW undertook an extensive review of the two Tenders received.  One Tenderer was not able to adequately meet the tender evaluation criteria. The other met the criteria and negotiations will begin shortly on a potential future concession for rail corridor land in Leeton. Further details are not available at this stage as the negotiations remain commercial-in-confidence.  


In recent years there has been strong private sector interest in the potential use of government-owned assets such as non-operational rail lines and rail yards/land throughout the Riverina and South West Slopes region.

Transport for NSW commenced an RFT process in late 2015 to determine the future of these assets and whether they can support commercially sustainable activity.

Under the RFT, tenders were invited from suitably experienced and qualified private sector organisations interested in developing one or more of the currently non-operational rail assets (see below) for freight transportation or any other suitable and commercially sustainable use, under a fixed term arrangement without any funding from NSW Government.

Group - A assets

Currently non-operational railways or sections:

  • The 22.6km Whitton Line in South-West NSW, which is the Yanco to Whitton section of the Hay Railway Line (Junee to Hay), currently partially-suspended from operations
  • The 104km Cootamundra to Tumut Line, commonly known as the Tumut Line, a branch of the Main South Line.

Group - B assets

Rail corridors located in:

  • Yenda
  • Leeton
  • Binya and
  • Coolamon